Home Mortgage Insurance for Disaster Victims

Managing AgencyFederal Housing Administration (FHA)https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/fhahistory 
Program Description

Through Section 203(h), the Federal Government helps survivors in presidentially-designated disaster areas recover by making it easier for them to get mortgages and become homeowners or re-establish themselves as homeowners.

General Program Requirements

Individuals are eligible for this program if their homes are located in an area that was designated by the president as a disaster area and if their homes were destroyed or damaged to such an extent that reconstruction or replacement is necessary. Insured mortgages may be used to finance the purchase or reconstruction of a one-family home that will be the principal residence of the homeowner.

Loan Terms

Please contact an Federal Housing Administration (FHA) approved lender for loan term information.

Your Next Steps
The following information will lead you to the next steps to apply for this benefit.
Application Process

The borrower's application for mortgage insurance must be submitted to the lender within one year of the president's declaration of the disaster. Applications are made only through an  Federal Housing Administration (FHA) approved lending institution.

To obtain an FHA insured mortgage, or lookup lender information, contact an FHA-approved lender.

Program Contact Information

To read more about this program, go to HUD Mortgage Insurance for Disaster Victims.

Contact a U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Housing Counseling agency.

To contact the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), please use one of the following methods:

The FHA Resource Center

Write to:
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Federal Housing Administration
451 Seventh St., SW
Washington, D.C. 20410

1-800-CALL-FHA (1-800-225-5342) or via Federal Information Relay Service (w/TTY): 1-800-877-8339